Public Contracts Scotland

Early Learning, Childcare and Brokerage Services

Dumfries and Galloway Council

Awarded
services
Scotland
3 lots

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Dumfries and Galloway Council, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
Dumfries and Galloway
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
9 January 2026

Procurement

Procedure type
Open procedure
CPV classifications
  • 85312110 Child daycare services
  • 80110000 Pre-school education services
  • 80100000 Primary education services

What happened

Dumfries and Galloway Council awarded this contract to First Steps Nursery | Midget Gems Chilminder worth £48,686,143 on 4 Dec 2025.

Description

The Council has a statutory duty to make pre-school education available for eligible children under the Standards in Scotland’s Schools Act 2000. The Children and Young People (Scotland) Act 2014 and Statutory Guidance set out the increased entitlement to 1140 hours for eligible children which became a statutory duty from August 2021.

The Funding Follows the Child approach places choice in parents’ and carers’ hands enabling them to access their child’s funded entitlement with a provider that best suits their needs.

All providers who apply and meet the expected standard, legislation and the Council's procedural requirements as set out in the Invitation to Tender and accept the rates and contract terms set out by the Council shall be accepted to deliver funded provision through the Flexible Framework enabling them to register children in 2025 to commence Brokerage placements from Q2 2025 and funded Early Learning and Childcare placements from August 2025.

This is the July 2025 re-opening of the framework.

If you have already been awarded a place on this framework, you do not need to re-apply.

Awarded suppliers (2)

Suppliers
  • First Steps Nursery
  • Midget Gems Chilminder
Award value
£48,686,143
Award date
4 December 2025

Contact

Address
Procurement Team, Carruthers House, Dumfries, DG1 2HP
Contact name
Karen Mclachlan

Identifiers

Buyer reference
DGCP-0244
Notice ID
rls-69-JAN546890
OCID
ocds-r6ebe6-0000802999

Explore related tenders

External ID: pcs-ocds-r6ebe6-0000802999 • Added 15 May 2026