Find a Tender Service

Social Care Provision in Prisons

City of Doncaster Council

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from City of Doncaster Council, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
City of Doncaster Council
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Doncaster
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
26 August 2026

Procurement

Contract period
1 September 2026 - 31 March 2031
5 years
Possible extension to 31 March 2033 · 6 years, 6 months in total
Extension terms: The contract includes an option, exercisable at the Council's discretion, to extend the term by up to two years to ensure the contract remains co-terminous with the NHS healthcare contract.
Procedure type
Direct award
CPV classifications
  • 85000000 Health and social work services

What happened

City of Doncaster Council awarded this contract to PRACTICE PLUS GROUP HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES LIMITED worth £519,279 on 25 Aug 2026. The contract runs until 31 Mar 2031.

Description

City of Doncaster Council (CDC) has statutory responsibility for the provision of social care services within the prison setting.

CDC was not involved in NHS England's procurement process for services commencing on 1 September 2026 and therefore had no input into the social care requirements or associated costs.

Whilst the healthcare contract was awarded to PPG, no social care provision was included within the new NHS England arrangements.

The delivery of social care services within a prison environment requires specialist expertise and the ability to operate within a complex and highly regulated secure setting. Providers must work closely with prison management, healthcare professionals and wider support agencies, whilst complying with prison security requirements, safeguarding arrangements, information governance protocols, access controls and established operational procedures.

As the current provider of both healthcare and social care services within Doncaster prisons, PPG has established relationships, operational processes, governance arrangements, security-cleared staff and integrated care pathways already in place.

Continuity of provision through PPG will minimise mobilisation risk, support effective partnership working and ensure the ongoing delivery of safe and effective services to vulnerable individuals within the prison population.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
PRACTICE PLUS GROUP HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES LIMITED
Companies House: 10498997
Award value
£519,279
Award date
25 August 2026

Contact

Address
Civic Office, Waterdale, Doncaster, DN1 3BU

Identifiers

Notice ID
081458-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06ece7

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-06ece7 • Added 26 August 2026