Find a Tender Service

MAXPREP AGREEMENT

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Awarded
services
Wales

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Cardiff and Vale University Health Board, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Cardiff
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
27 January 2026

Procurement

Contract period
28 June 2026 - 27 June 2029
3 years
Procedure type
Below threshold - without competition
CPV classifications
  • 50410000 Repair and maintenance services of measuring, testing and checking apparatus

What happened

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board awarded this contract to Promega UK LTD worth £31,549 on 26 Jan 2026. The contract runs until 27 Jun 2029.

Description

The requirement relates to the ongoing maintenance and support of the Promega Maxprep Liquid Handling System, a critical piece of laboratory automation equipment used by AWMGS for DNA extraction workflows. This system supports high-throughput processing and ensures compliance with UKAS accreditation standards for laboratory operations.

The Maxprep system is integral to genetic testing processes, enabling automated pre-processing and post-processing steps for DNA extraction using Maxwell RSC AS1400 DNA Blood kits. Without this equipment functioning optimally, there is a significant risk of disruption to essential diagnostic services.

To maintain operational reliability and compliance, the instrument requires:

  • Annual preventive maintenance and six-monthly checks by qualified engineers.
  • Technical support for troubleshooting and repairs.
  • Replacement of defective parts as covered under the service agreement.

Promega UK Ltd is the sole supplier of the Maxprep system and its associated maintenance services. The proprietary nature of the equipment means no other provider can deliver the required support without breaching intellectual property rights or voiding warranties. Market research confirms that there are no alternative suppliers for this service.

The proposed procurement will secure a multi-year service agreement to ensure continuity of service, reduce risk of downtime, and maintain compliance with regulatory standards. This approach will also provide cost certainty and operational stability for the duration of the contract.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Promega UK LTD
GB-PPON: PXJY-2454-CZWD
Award value
£31,549
Award date
26 January 2026

Contact

Address
Woodland House Road, Maes Y Coed Road, Cardiff, CF14 4HH
Contact name
Nicola Williams

Identifiers

Buyer reference
CAV-DIR (25-28) 188
Notice ID
007119-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-060fb9

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-060fb9 • Added 6 August 2026