Find a Tender Service

GMCA1667.2 Greater Manchester Integrated Rehabilitation Services (GMIRS) Peer Support Service

Greater Manchester Combined Authority

Awarded
services
SME-friendly
VCSE-friendly

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Greater Manchester Combined Authority, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Greater Manchester Combined Authority
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Manchester
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
11 March 2026

Procurement

Contract period
1 April 2026 - 31 March 2027
11 months
Procedure type
Direct award
CPV classifications
  • 75231200 Services related to the detention or rehabilitation of criminals
  • 75231240 Probation services
  • 85320000 Social services

What happened

Greater Manchester Combined Authority awarded this contract to COMMUNITY LED INITIATIVES C.I.C. worth £973,635 on 11 Mar 2026. The contract runs until 31 Mar 2027.

Description

The Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) intends to award a contract of up to £973,634.91 to Community Led Initiatives CIC for the delivery of the Greater Manchester Integrated Rehabilitation Services (GMIRS) Peer Support Services over an 18-month period from 1 April 2026 to 30 September 2027 (on a 12 month + 6 month basis).

The funding for the initial 12-month contract period will be £649,089.94. Subject to confirmation of funding, £324,544.97 will be issued for the period 1 April to 30 September 2027.

Community Led Initiatives CIC are the incumbent provider of the GMIRS Peer Support Service which provides peer support services aimed at assisting probation service users to avoid criminal justice involvement and access rehabilitative services. The provider offers mentoring, counselling, and advocacy tailored to individual needs.

The current contract for the provision of the Peer Support Service (GMCA 255-4b), was awarded following a competitive Open procurement process in 2021, during which Community Led Initiatives CIC submitted the most economically advantageous bid.

The current contract will expire on 31st March 2026, and budget confirmation for GMIRS covering 1st April 2026 to 31st March 2027 was received from HMPSS in November 2025. A compliant procurement process is now underway to award a new GMIRS services contract starting from 1st October 2027, ensuring alignment with the national approach for CRS contracts (regionally referred to as GMIRS).

As this risks an 18-month gap in service provision, and a change of provider at this point would create disproportionate technical difficulties for GMCA, a Direct Award is being sought under Schedule 5 (7) of the Procurement Act 2023. Appointing a new provider at this stage would create significant incompatibilities with the existing service and impose disproportionate challenges for GMCA in mobilising and managing delivery within the limited 18-month timeframe before the long-term contract is procured.

Appointing a new provider for a short term interim contract would create significant challenges, including TUPE complexities, delays in vetting and onboarding, disruption to established local networks, and risks to data and system integration. These factors would undermine service continuity and create operational difficulties that are disproportionate to the short-term nature of the contract.

In addition, Community Led Initiatives CIC has demonstrated consistent, high-quality performance, operational efficiency, and positive social impact, supporting the value for money consideration of the Direct Award.

The proposed approach ensures continuity of a statutory service while a fully compliant competitive procurement for the redesigned GMIRS service is scheduled for 2026, with a new long-term contract commencing October 2027.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
COMMUNITY LED INITIATIVES C.I.C.
Companies House: 08426120
Award value
£973,635
Award date
11 March 2026

Contact

Address
56 Oxford Street, Manchester, M1 6EU

Identifiers

Notice ID
021735-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06672d

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-06672d • Added 6 August 2026