Find a Tender Service

E-Act Catering Tender

E-ACT

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from E-ACT, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
E-ACT
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Kettering
Delivery: UKI7, United Kingdom
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
19 June 2026

Procurement

Contract period
1 August 2026 - 31 July 2029
3 years
Possible extension to 30 July 2031 · 4 years, 11 months in total
Procedure type
Competitive flexible procedure
CPV classifications
  • 55524000 School catering services

What happened

E-ACT awarded this contract to Aspens-Services Limited worth £24,745,821 on 18 Jun 2026. The contract runs until 31 Jul 2029.

Description

E-ACT is a dynamic, successful and growing Multi Academy Trust with primary and secondary academies across London, Bristol, Daventry, Birmingham, Oldham and Sheffield. The Trust has grown to 37 academies, with more than 93% rated Good or Outstanding by Ofsted, and 100% of them achieving the highest grade for leadership and management. Recognised nationally, E-ACT was named MAT of the Year at the 2023 MAT Excellence Awards. Guided by their mantra of "Opening Minds, Opening Doors," the Trust is committed to ensuring that disadvantaged students have equal opportunities to succeed and thrive.

The Trust is tendering its catering services in three Lots, with a contract commencement date of 1st August 2026. Bidders are invited to submit proposals for individual Lots or multiple Lots collectively. The initial contract term will be three years, with a potential extension for a further two years (either 1+1 years or a single 2-year extension), subject to client satisfaction and mutual agreement on budgets and service levels.

The Trust is conducting the procurement through a two stage Competitive Flexible process under the Light Touch Regime. The process will begin with a Procurement Specific Questionnaire (PSQ) stage, followed by an Invitation to Tender (ITT) stage for shortlisted bidders. In line with the flexibility permitted under the Light Touch Regime, the Trust reserves the right to refine the award criteria during the process. Capital Investment is not required in bidders’ proposals.

  • Lot One is London and Bucks, 9 academies and annual turnover circa £1,102,445
  • Lot Two is Bristol 13 academies and annual turnover circa £613,800.
  • Lot Three is North and Midlands, 15 academies annual turnover circa £1,674,600.

The new contract will reward maximising sales and FSM uptake through pro-active management, consistently high food quality and tangible contract support. The Trust and CCL expect the successful Contractor to guarantee their financial proposals and maintain excellent standards throughout the life of the contract.

At present, the Trust operates a ‘price per meal’ model for Free School Meals (FSM) in primaries and secondary academies, under which the Contractor only invoices for the food cost of the meal. All other sales are processed via cashless systems, with some sixth form cafés use POS terminals for contactless payments. This process is currently under review.

The Trust requires a TUPE-compliant bid, including additional recommendations on service equipment, serving points, staffing levels and a bespoke food concept designed to drive sales and uptake.

In summary, the Trust must be convinced that bidders can deliver their promises, achieve their sales targets, deliver their service enhancements in full and provide ongoing support to the academies. Should the Trust not receive suitable bids, they reserve the right to cancel the procurement or revert to an ‘insourced’ solution. Any proposals for marketing and light equipment investment must comply with DFE guidelines.

The successful bidder will be expected to operate with a strong partnership, integrity and honesty.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Aspens-Services Limited
Companies House: 06561073
Award value
£24,745,821
Award date
18 June 2026
Bidders
1 bidder

Contact

Address
The Orangery, 28 Headlands, Kettering, NN15 7HP
Contact name
CCL Procurement Team

Identifiers

Buyer reference
CCL_111
Notice ID
058136-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-059e09
Companies House

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-059e09 • Added 19 June 2026