Find a Tender Service

DoLS Assessments

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Awarded
services
Wales

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Cardiff and Vale University Health Board, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Cardiff
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
2 June 2026

Procurement

Contract period
8 June 2026 - 7 June 2027
1 year
Procedure type
Direct award
CPV classifications
  • 85323000 Community health services

What happened

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board awarded this contract to Vale of Glamorgan Council worth £960,000 on 2 Jun 2026. The contract runs until 7 Jun 2027.

Description

The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) are an amendment to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (the ‘Act’), and provides protection for vulnerable people, in care homes or hospitals who lack capacity to consent to the care or treatment they need. In 2014, following a Supreme Court ruling, the law in relation to DoLS changed, meaning the Act applied to far more people than it had previously, with the number of people subject to DoLS increasing significantly.

In 2019 the law was changed with an amended Mental Capacity Act (2019) (MCA). The MCA (amendment) 2019 was to put in place new legislation, the publication of a new code, and regulations under Liberty Protection Safeguards (LPS). These changes were originally scheduled to replace the DoLS legislation and procedures from 1 October 2020. However, in April 2023 the Department of Health and Social Care announced the implementation of the Liberty Protection Safeguards (LPS), the Mental Capacity (Amendment) Act 2019, would be delayed “beyond the life of this Parliament” (therefore beyond Autumn 2024). As such, the existing DoLS policies, rules and regulations are still extant.

The DoLS Team provide the service in line with statutory requirements from Mental Capacity Act 2005 (as amended, 2009) and therefore, it must be provided by a statutory body.

As a ‘Managing Authority’, Cardiff and Vale UHB have responsibility for applying to the relevant Supervisory Body for authorisation of a deprivation of liberty for any person who may come within the scope of the Safeguards. Cardiff and Vale UHB have a long-standing tripartite agreement, with both Cardiff and the Vale Local Authorities, which provides that the Vale LA will act as the ‘Supervisory Body’ for our geographical area in the form of the DoLS Team. Under this agreement the UHB contributes funds on a proportional basis (45%) for the provision of this service. As the Supervisory Body, the DoLS team receive requests for authorisations and arrange for the relevant assessments to be completed to establish whether it would be appropriate and lawful to deprive the person of their liberty in hospital, in order to provide care and treatment. Without this authorisation, the UHB is in breach of Article 5 of the European Convention on Human Rights, which requires that ‘no one shall be deprived of his or her liberty [unless] in accordance with a procedure prescribed in law]’.

This contract in an exemption under Schedule 2.2.3 of the 2023 Procurement Act which states a contract is exempt from a formal procurement process if it is a horizontal arrangement. A “horizontal arrangement” means an arrangement—

(a) entered into—

(i) with the aim of achieving objectives the authorities have in common in connection with the exercise of their public functions;

(ii) solely in the public interest;

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Vale of Glamorgan Council
GB-PPON: PVJL-7881-XMJT
Award value
£960,000
Award date
2 June 2026

Contact

Address
Woodland House, Maes-y-coed Road, Cardiff, CF14 4HH
Contact name
Lowri Crossman

Identifiers

Buyer reference
CAV-DIR (26-27) 15
Notice ID
051790-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06ab3d

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-06ab3d • Added 2 June 2026