OpenTender (EU)

Coroner Service – Body Storage, Mortuary Provision, Histology & Toxicology

Buckinghamshire Council

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Buckinghamshire Council, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
United Kingdom
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
13 April 2021

Procurement

Contract period
Until 25 November 2023
24 months
Procedure type
pt_open
CPV classifications
  • 85000000 Health and social work services

What happened

Buckinghamshire Council awarded this contract to Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS trust worth £1,911,510 on 26 Nov 2021. The contract runs until 25 Nov 2023.

Description

Buckinghamshire Council is seeking to place two contracts – one for the body storage, mortuary provision and histology (Lot 1), and one for toxicology (Lot 2). The contracts will commence on site on 1 April 2021 and end on the 31 March 2026. The contracts may be extended by one further 2 year period, and then one further 1 year period.

The Buckinghamshire Coroner jurisdiction covers the territorial county of Buckinghamshire, excluding Milton Keynes. The coronial jurisdiction contains major transport links consisting of motorways, A-roads, underground and mainline railways, as well as an airport. It also has one healthcare trust, a mental health unit and two prisons.

As with all Coroners, the Buckinghamshire Coroner works to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009. The current population of Buckinghamshire is 540 000 and with 13 % growth anticipated by 2036. There is a well-established Medical Examiner Service in place at Stoke Mandeville Hospital which reviews all hospital deaths, and there is a statutory requirement for this to include all community deaths by April 2022.

This contract award notice is for Lot 2 only. Lot 1 has not yet been awarded.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS trust
Award value
£1,911,510
Award date
26 November 2021
Bidders
1 bidder

Contact

Address
11th Floor, New County Offices, Walton Street, HP20 1YU
Contact name
Mr Adrian Ratcliff

Identifiers

Buyer reference
2021/S 71-182385
Notice ID
ocds-70d2nz-afcfad84-82fa-49c9-ad96-f1ce8ea3cbca-2021-04-13T00:00:00.000Z
OCID
ocds-70d2nz-afcfad84-82fa-49c9-ad96-f1ce8ea3cbca

Explore related tenders

External ID: ot-ocds-70d2nz-afcfad84-82fa-49c9-ad96-f1ce8ea3cbca • Added 12 May 2026