Find a Tender Service

CPRD Safe

MHRA

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from MHRA, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
MHRA
Public authority - central government
Region
London
Delivery: United Kingdom, United Kingdom
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
23 February 2026

Procurement

Contract period
16 March 2026 - 16 March 2029
3 years
Procedure type
Open procedure
CPV classifications
  • 72266000 Software consultancy services

What happened

MHRA awarded this contract to TELEFÓNICA TECH NORTHERN IRELAND LIMITED worth £3,782,016 on 11 Feb 2026. The contract runs until 16 Mar 2029.

Description

CPRD has significantly expanded the amount of data available for research, increasing volumes fourfold from 15 million patients in 2015, to circa 60 million patients in 2022. CPRD has also increased the number of linked datasets that it supports to 17 and increased its client base by over 30%. In conjunction to this increase in data, regulations governing how health data are provided, maintained, accessed, and used have significantly tightened. Government and NHS reviews on the efficient and safe use of health data, only further underlined that organisations holding healthcare data for research should transition to a trusted research environment (TRE) / secure data environment (SDE)-based model of data access for NHS patient care datasets.

In 2022 CPRD embarked on the development of a TRE, branded as CPRD Safe, that provided clients with access to CPRD's healthcare datasets under appropriate approvals and contracts. As it stands, CPRD Safe provides the functionality for current CPRD clients to conduct research on CPRD data using a suite of analytical tools such as python, R, and Stata. CPRD has been awarded funding over the next three financial years (2026/27; 2027/28; 2028/29), to be spent on CPRD Safe enhancements that will add advanced capabilities and ensure that CPRD remains at the forefront of public health benefitting research.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
TELEFÓNICA TECH NORTHERN IRELAND LIMITED
Companies House: NI028408
Award value
£3,782,016
Award date
11 February 2026

Contact

Address
10 South Colonnade, Canary Wharf, London, E14 4PU
Contact name
Commercial

Identifiers

Buyer reference
C379087
Notice ID
016193-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-059217

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-059217 • Added 1 May 2026