Find a Tender Service

Studying and Assessing the Benthic Response to Electrical Stimuli (SABRES)

National Grid Electricity Transmission PLC

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from National Grid Electricity Transmission PLC, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
London
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
6 October 2026

Procurement

Contract period
6 October 2026 - 31 October 2028
2 years
Possible extension to 31 March 2031 · 4 years, 5 months in total
Extension terms: Project extension for time or cost subject to approved variation if required.
Procedure type
Award under framework
CPV classifications
  • 73111000 Research laboratory services
  • 73120000 Experimental development services
  • 73200000 Research and development consultancy services
  • 73300000 Design and execution of research and development

What happened

National Grid Electricity Transmission PLC awarded this contract to Southampton University worth £859,867 on 6 Oct 2026. The contract runs until 31 Oct 2028.

Description

High voltage submarine cables produce electromagnetic fields (EMF) external to the cable due to current flowing within their metallic components, primarily the main conductor. While the magnitude of these fields decays rapidly with separation from the cables, reducing to background levels within 10's of meters, cable circuits extend continuously across the seabed for 100's of km. Accurately quantifying and understanding the impact of anthropogenic EMF on seafloor organisms is therefore vital. Given the significant volume of new interconnector systems being installed/planned (e.g. For the Eastern Green Link projects (1-4) represent ~1800km of cable circuit), it is important to ensure that this transition to net zero does not result in ecological harm.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Southampton University
Companies House: RC000668
Award value
£859,867
Award date
6 October 2026

Contact

Address
1 - 3 Strand, London, WC2N 5EH

Identifiers

Notice ID
094167-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-07817a
Companies House
PPON
PHHJ-6513-BWZT

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-07817a • Added 6 October 2026