Find a Tender Service

Low Complex, High Volume Cataract Surgery Service

NHS Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland ICB

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from NHS Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland ICB, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
Leicester
Delivery: UKF21
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
1 September 2025

Procurement

Procedure type
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
CPV classifications
  • 85160000 Optician services
  • 85100000 Health services

What happened

NHS Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland ICB awarded this contract to Community Health and Eyecare Ltd | Leicestershire Consultant Eye Surgeons, T/A The Stoneygate Eye Hospital | Optegra UK Ltd on 1 Jun 2025.

Description

To provide Service Users diagnosed with a cataract in one or both eyes and potentially will require cataract surgery, meeting the Right Care selection criteria in addition to locally defined clinical criteria.

Full description

The service needs are to ensure provision through Provider choice for Service Users requiring low complex cataract surgery as defined within the GIRFT cataract risk stratification

o Level 1 - routine, no risk factors:

o Level 2 - Having no more than 2 risk factors:

difficult access, deep-set eye, difficulty lying flat, anxious / jumpy patient, poor pupil dilation (no hooks/ring required), tamsulosin (alpha blockers), dense or mature cataract, shallow anterior chamber, vitrectomised eye, high myopia or high hypermetropia, >85yrs, guttate, multiple intravitreal injections.

The service is for high volume, low complex day case cataract surgery and associated pre-operative and post-operative services.

The Provider must follow the commissioned pathway as detailed on the LLR cataract pathway:

  • in respect of pre-operative and pre-clinic attendance information and consent form provision,
  • booking service users,
  • pre-operative assessment, surgery and aftercare.

This notice is confirmation of award under the Direct Award B PSR process. This is an existing service for new providers.

This is an activity based service and payments will be made dependent on activity.

The service will be provided until the 31st of March 2026.

Awarded suppliers (3)

Suppliers
  • Community Health and Eyecare Ltd
  • Leicestershire Consultant Eye Surgeons, T/A The Stoneygate Eye Hospital
  • Optegra UK Ltd
Companies House: 07296068
Award date
1 June 2025

Contact

Address
Room G30, Pen Lloyd Building, County Hall, Glenfield, Leicester, LE3 8TB

Identifiers

Buyer reference
Accr/DA-B/CataractSurg
Notice ID
052756-2025
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-059131

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-059131 • Added 6 August 2026