Find a Tender Service

Capturing transitional changes in GHG fluxes following peat restoration

Department Of Environment, Food And Rural Affairs

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Department Of Environment, Food And Rural Affairs, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Department Of Environment, Food And Rural Affairs
Public authority - central government
Region
London
Delivery: London, United Kingdom
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
26 November 2025

Procurement

Contract period
8 December 2025 - 31 March 2028
2 years
Procedure type
Open procedure
CPV classifications
  • 73200000 Research and development consultancy services

What happened

Department Of Environment, Food And Rural Affairs awarded this contract to UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (UKCEH) worth £199,911 on 26 Nov 2025. The contract runs until 31 Mar 2028.

Description

There is approximately 1,420,000 hectares of peat in England, with deep peat accounting for approximately 680,000 hectares. However, the majority of our deep peat is degraded, damaged and dried out, with only 13% of deep peat remaining in a near natural state. As a result, peatlands in England emit approximately 8 million tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent per year, about 2% of England's total greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

There is an urgent need to re-wet peatlands to abate these GHG emissions to meet our net zero targets. In Carbon Budget 7, the Climate Change Committee recommends that by 2040, peatland restoration should represent over 50% of the emissions savings in land use, and 17% of the savings in the agriculture and land use sector. Peatland restoration targets have been set in the 2023 Environmental Improvement Plan (EIP), with an aim to restore 280,000 hectares by 2050.

When peat is restored or re-wet, it moves fro

Awarded supplier

Supplier
UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (UKCEH)
GB-PPON: PNLJ-4998-WXXW
Award value
£199,911
Award date
26 November 2025

Contact

Address
Seacole Building, 2 Marsham Street, London, SW1P 4DF
Contact name
Defra Group Commercial

Identifiers

Buyer reference
C30264
Notice ID
077231-2025
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-059b45

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-059b45 • Added 6 August 2026