Find a Tender Service

Primary Care healthcare waste collection and disposal service to General Practice and Community Pharmacy for NHS Somerset Integrated Care Board (ICB)

NHS Somerset Integrated Care Board

Awarded
services

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from NHS Somerset Integrated Care Board, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
NHS Somerset Integrated Care Board
Public authority - central government
Region
Yeovil
Delivery: UKK23, United Kingdom
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
19 March 2026

Procurement

Contract period
1 October 2026 - 30 September 2031
5 years
Procedure type
Open procedure
CPV classifications
  • 90524100 Clinical-waste collection services
  • 90524200 Clinical-waste disposal services

What happened

NHS Somerset Integrated Care Board awarded this contract to SRCL LTD worth £2,148,510 on 12 Mar 2026. The contract runs until 30 Sept 2031.

Description

Somerset Integrated Care Board (ICB) sought a provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a Primary Care healthcare waste collection and disposal service to General Practice and Community Pharmacy.

The services in the tender include:

1. Collection & transport of healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

2. Storage of healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

3. Treatment of healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

4. Incineration of healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

5. Provision of reusable and single use containers for healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

6. Decontamination of reusable containers for healthcare waste and pharmaceutical waste

7. Promoting waste segregation and compliance

8. Healthcare and pharmaceutical waste tracking data including Duty of Care compliance

The commissioner has a maximum financial envelope available of £386,000 per annum, inclusive of VAT.

The total maximum contract value for the 5-year Contract is £1,930,000, inclusive VAT.

At the end of the initial contract term the Commissioner will have extension options of up to 4 years in total, made of 2 x 24 month periods, which will be awarded at the Commissioner's discretion, giving a maximum possible contract value of £3,474,000 inclusive of VAT over 9 years if the full contract term is fulfilled.

The Commissioner is of the view that TUPE does not apply to this service

The new contract will commence on the 1st of October 2026 with mobilisation planned from April 2026

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Award value
£2,148,510
Award date
12 March 2026

Contact

Address
Wynford House, Lufton Way, Yeovil, BA22 8HR

Identifiers

Buyer reference
C400424 / WA18915
Notice ID
024894-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-05df8e

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-05df8e • Added 6 August 2026