Find a Tender Service

Provision of Specialist Legal Advice relating to Associated Land & Property Transactions

University of Keele

Awarded
services
SME-friendly

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from University of Keele, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
University of Keele
Public authority - sub-central government
Region
Keele, Staffordshire
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
23 December 2025

Procurement

Contract period
26 January 2026 - 25 January 2030
4 years
Procedure type
Direct award
CPV classifications
  • 79100000 Legal services

What happened

University of Keele awarded this contract to OSBORNE CLARKE LLP worth £400,000 on 1 Dec 2025. The contract runs until 25 Jan 2030.

Description

University of Keele is publishing this transparency notice to announce its intention, in accordance with its statutory obligations, to award a contract directly to Osborne Clarke LLP for the provision of specialist legal advice relating to complex land and property transactions.

This direct award is justified under Paragraphs 7, 13 and 14 of Schedule 5 of the Procurement Act 2023.

The services require a strategic review of, and advice on, highly complex and long-standing legal and financial structures. The successful delivery of these services is contingent upon a deep and specific understanding of a unique transactional history, comprising multi-layered agreements and involving multiple specific parties and intricate relationships.

Osborne Clarke LLP was previously engaged by the University to conduct an initial high-level scoping review of this specific matter. As a result, they now possess pre-existing, supplier-specific expertise and a demonstrated understanding of the transaction's particularities. This includes a detailed, phased methodology for the work, developed during the initial engagement.

Appointing any alternative supplier would require them to acquire this specific expertise and experience. This would necessitate a substantial duplication of effort and cost, and an unacceptable period of mobilisation, resulting in:

1. Potential material duplication of cost for the University; and

2. Detrimental delays in the delivery of time-critical advice, which would prevent the University from achieving its immediate and lasting operational and financial objectives.

The award of this contract to Osborne Clarke LLP represents the only viable route to secure the required services in a timely and cost-effective manner, as a competitive procurement process would be objectively unsuitable in these specific circumstances.

Disclaimer

This Transparency Notice is published by the University of Keele, a contracting authority, in accordance with its statutory obligations under Section 44 of the Procurement Act 2023 to notify its intention to award a contract directly.

This notice does not itself constitute an offer, an award of contract, or give rise to any implied contract. The publication of the subsequent Contract Award Notice on 12th January 2026 by University of Keele will initiate the mandatory 8 working day standstill period, as required by Section 51(1) of the Act.

The University will not, and cannot lawfully, enter into a contract for the required services until the 8 working day standstill period has been successfully completed. Any contract award will be confirmed through the subsequent publication of a Contract Details Notice.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
OSBORNE CLARKE LLP
Companies House: OC397443
Award value
£400,000
Award date
1 December 2025

Contact

Address
Procurement Office, Directorate of Finance, Innovation Centre 1, Keele University Science and Innovation Park, Keele, Staffordshire, ST5 5NB
Contact name
Darren Pearce

Identifiers

Buyer reference
KU/810/DP/PV/2025
Notice ID
085970-2025
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-05fce4
PPON
PMPH-8367-VGCY

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-05fce4 • Added 6 August 2026