Find a Tender Service

GD3 Reach Out

Wales & West Utilities Limited

Awarded
services
Wales

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Wales & West Utilities Limited, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
Newport
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
13 July 2026

Procurement

Contract period
24 July 2026 - 31 March 2028
2 years
Procedure type
Direct award
CPV classifications
  • 80330000 Safety education services

What happened

Wales & West Utilities Limited awarded this contract to SEVERN WYE ENERGY AGENCY LTD. worth £716,908 on 22 Jun 2026. The contract runs until 31 Mar 2028.

Description

This project will deliver targeted, community-based energy advocacy across Gloucestershire, South Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, focusing on minority and marginalised households who experience structural barriers to accessing safe, affordable energy services on participating GDNs' networks.

The scope of the project is shaped by learning from GD2 Reach Out delivery, alongside demographic analysis and extensive stakeholder engagement. Evidence shows that communities including refugees, asylum seekers, migrants, and Gypsy, Roma and Traveller households are disproportionately affected by fuel poverty and energy vulnerability. Barriers such as limited English proficiency, digital exclusion, insecure or poor-quality housing, unfamiliarity with the UK energy system and mistrust of statutory services significantly reduce engagement with suppliers and mainstream advice channels.

In Oxfordshire, growing diversity driven by sustained refugee and asylum dispersal, alongside increased reliance on temporary and private rented accommodation, has created areas of concentrated unmet need. Similar patterns continue across Gloucestershire and South Gloucestershire. Frontline organisations consistently report households who lack basic understanding of energy systems and are unable or unwilling to engage independently with suppliers, leading to heightened risk of energy debt, self disconnection and unsafe heating practices, including increased carbon monoxide risk.

Delivery will be led by trained Community-Based Energy Advocates (CBEAs) embedded within trusted, non-statutory environments such as community hubs, ESOL provision, refugee support services, faith groups and minority-led organisations. This model ensures support is accessible, culturally competent and delivered face-to-face, enabling effective engagement with households who would otherwise remain hidden from traditional services.

Project objectives:

•Reduce structural and cultural barriers preventing minority households from accessing energy advice, supplier engagement and consumer protections.

•Improve understanding of the UK energy system, billing arrangements, tariffs and consumer rights through accessible, language-appropriate support.

•Increase uptake of the Priority Services Register (PSR) among eligible minority and displaced households.

•Prevent self-disconnection and reduce energy debt through holistic, case-managed advocacy.

•Promote gas and carbon monoxide safety through trusted, culturally relevant engagement.

•Strengthen community resilience by equipping minority-focused frontline organisations to identify and refer vulnerable customers.

The project will deliver clear benefits to customers on participating GDN networks by improving safety, increasing engagement with protective mechanisms such as the PSR, and enabling earlier intervention to prevent avoidable harm. By addressing accessibility, trust and cultural barriers, GD3 Reach Out will reduce risk on the gas network, improve customer resilience and ensure that minority households are able to access energy support equitably and safely.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
SEVERN WYE ENERGY AGENCY LTD.
Companies House: 03830608
Award value
£716,908
Award date
22 June 2026

Contact

Address
Wales & West House, Newport, NP10 8FZ

Identifiers

Buyer reference
WWU1583
Notice ID
065462-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06ac90
Companies House
PPON
PMVL-3238-DQDX

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-06ac90 • Added 3 June 2026