Public Contracts Scotland

Waste Management Services following expiry of the Council’s Public Private Partnership (PPP) Arrangements

Argyll and Bute Council

Awarded
services
Scotland

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Argyll and Bute Council, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
Lochaber, Skye and Lochalsh, Arran and Cumbrae
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
14 September 2026

Procurement

Procedure type
Open procedure
CPV classifications
  • 90500000 Refuse and waste related services
  • 90513000 Non-hazardous refuse and waste treatment and disposal services
  • 90533000 Waste-tip management services
  • 90514000 Refuse recycling services

What happened

Argyll and Bute Council awarded this contract to Biffa Waste Services Limited worth £5,608,359 on 1 Sept 2026.

Description

The Council is currently party to a PPP Contract, with services provided by a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV). The PPP Contract includes infrastructure and requirements associated with mechanical biological treatment (MBT) (which will have been adapted to become WTSs prior to the commencement of this Contract), Waste Transfer Stations (WTS Sites), Recycling Centres (RC Sites), Recycling Deposit Points (RDPs) and management of Landfill Sites. The PPP Contract, which covers Oban and Lorn together with the inner islands, Mid Argyll and Kintyre, Bute and Cowal expires at the end of September 3rd, 2026.

In the short-term, the Council has a requirement to procure continued provision of services within the ‘Contract Area’ whilst further consideration is given to the preferred longer-term service configuration and delivery model. The Services required under this Contract are detailed within Schedule Part 4 – Services Specification and further information provided in the Specification Appendices (1-5).

Awarded supplier

Supplier
Biffa Waste Services Limited
Award value
£5,608,359
Award date
1 September 2026

Contact

Address
Kilmory, Lochgilphead, PA31 8RT
Contact name
Elaine Appleby

Identifiers

Notice ID
rls-76-SEP564520
OCID
ocds-r6ebe6-0000810754

Explore related tenders

External ID: pcs-ocds-r6ebe6-0000810754 • Added 15 May 2026