Find a Tender Service

Provision of Eyecare Services at HMP Swansea

Swansea Bay University Health Board

Awarded
services
Wales

This tender has closed

The submission deadline for this contract has passed. There may be more active services tenders from Swansea Bay University Health Board, and hundreds more across the UK public sector.

Key details

Contracting authority
Region
Neath Port Talbot
Delivery: UKL18
Contract value
Not stated by buyer
Submissions closed
Not stated by buyer
Published
26 June 2026

Procurement

Procedure type
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
CPV classifications
  • 85121281 Ophthalmologist services
  • 85100000 Health services

What happened

Swansea Bay University Health Board awarded this contract to the prison opticians company on 27 Apr 2026.

Description

Direct Award Process 2 confirmation of contract award notice, for the avoidance of doubt, this notice does not represent a modification of contract.

The service will provide an ophthalmic services for men at HMP Swansea, in Swansea Bay University Health Board (SBUHB).

The provision will include a full range of NHS services within the constraints of prison regime and escort arrangements and will be scheduled for an appointment if any of the following apply:

-the patient has spectacles that are missing

-the patient has unexplained headaches, following assessment by a doctor

-the patient presents with an eye problem that requires investigation

-following referral from another health professional

-the patient requests an optical check, and the minimum recall interval decided at their last examination has passed

-the patient requests an optical check due to a deterioration in their vision.

The service to be accredited to deliver WGOS 2 eye health examinations, therefore all optometrists should be able to provide WGOS 1 and 2 whilst on site. WGOS 3-5 require additional qualifications and, thus, can only be provided by suitably qualified practitioners.

This notice is a contract award under the Health Services (Provider Selection Regime) (Wales) Regulations 2025 to The Prison Opticians Company LTD, Second Floor County House, 35 Earl Street Maidstone, ME14 1PF.

Awarded supplier

Supplier
the prison opticians company
Award date
27 April 2026

Contact

Address
1 Talbot Gateway BaglanEnergy Park, Neath Port Talbot, SA12 7BR
Contact name
Kate Saunders

Identifiers

Buyer reference
SBU-DAP2-62618
Notice ID
060163-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-068b62

Explore related tenders

External ID: fts-ocds-h6vhtk-068b62 • Added 27 April 2026